NVBF invites 19 players for 2023 Nations Championship

NVBF invites 19 players for 2023 Nations Championship

The Nigeria Volleyball Federation (NVBF) has invited 19 players to camp in preparations for the 2023 African Women’s Senior Volleyball Championship billed for Cameroon from August 14th to 29th.

The list released by the Technical Director of Nigeria Volleyball Federation, Chief Martin Melandi has 2022 National Best Setter, Enewa Odoh (Customs), Best Spiker, Ijeoma Ukapbi (COAS Spikers) and Best Libero, Jummai Bitrus (CNS Spikers).

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) in the 2022 Nigeria Volleyball League, Kelechi Ndukauba (CNS Spikers) as well as MVP of the 2023 African U21 Women’s Nations Championship, Mariam Usman (CNS Spikers) made the list of invited players.

Nigeria’s most in-form volleyball player, Albertina Francis (NSCDC); experienced middle blocker Helen Umeh (Customs) and national setter, Sharon Achi (NSCDC) are in camp ahead of the Nation’s Championship.

According to Melandi, the only foreign-based player in the camp is Mmeseoma Ugochinyere from Japan.

The Technical Representative on the board of NVBF said the technical committee approved the appointment of Samuel Ajayi as the head coach and assisted by Priscilla Agera.   

The players have began training at the indoor sports hall of Ahmadu Bello Stadium (ABS) in Kaduna State.

Nigeria women’s senior team finished fourth position at the 2021 African Nations Championship held in Kigali, Rwanda.


Enewa Odoh (Customs), Sharon Achi (NSCDC), Aliyah Usman (CNS Spikers), Mercy Promise (CNS Spikers), Happy Wushilang (NSCDC), Ijeoma Ukpabi (COAS Spikers), Comfort Amouwu (NSCDC), Naomi Yaro (Kada Emeralds), Mmeseoma Ugochinyere (Japan), Helen Umeh (Customs), Sandra Ozabor (Customs), Sarah Ali (COAS Spikers), Ezinne Blessing (NSCDC), Deborah Chukwu (COAS Spikers), Albertina Francis (NSCDC), Kelechi Ndukauba (CNS Spikers), Jummai Bitrus (CNS Spikers), Mariam Usman (CNS Spikers) and Bethel Ogochukwu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sorry this site disable selection
Sorry this site is not allow cut.
Sorry this site is not allow copy.
Sorry this site is not allow to inspect element.
Sorry this site is not allow to view source.