NWFL’s sanctions five Premiership clubs for failing to register for season


The hammer of the Nigeria Women Football League today fell on five NWFL Premiership clubs for failing to meet the the deadline for players licencing and registration for the 2020/2021 season.

The Chairperson of the Nigeria Women Football League, Aisha Falode, announced in Abuja Wednesday afternoon, that, the five clubs that failed to beat the deadline for club licencing and registration, are hereby relegated to the second tier of the NWFL league, the Championship.

Falode, noted that, the decision to relegate the five erring clubs; Sunshine Queens of Akure, Dream Stars of Lagos, Ibom Angels of Uyo, Adamawa Queens of Yola and Heartland Queens of Owerri, was taken by the board, after invoking the NWFL rules and regulations bothering on failure to register at the time set out by the NWFL Secretariat for such procedures. 

Corroborating the announcement made by the Chairperson of the NWFL, the league’s Chief Operating Officer, Mrs. Faith Ben-Anuge, said in a statement that: “Following the closure of registration for the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership Season, we hereby write to inform you of clubs licensed and eligible to participate in the upcoming NWFL 2020/2021 Premiership Season.

“Consequently, clubs not listed below are automatically disqualified and relegated to participate in the NWFL Championship Season. Licensed and eligible clubs are listed below:1. FC Robo Queens Fc.2. Nasarawa Amazons FC.3. Edo Queens Fc.4. Osun Babes Fc.5. Bayelsa Queens Fc.6. Royal Queens Fc.7. Abia Angels Fc.8. Rivers Angels Fc.9. Delta Queens Fc.10. Pelican Stars Fc.11. Confluence Queens Fc.”

The C.O.O noted that, the defaulting clubs are also listed below for the purpose of clarity and a fresh Draws will be made for the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership Season will be conducted.The clubs relegated to the NWFL Championship are: 1. Sunshine Queens Fc.2. Dream Stars Fc.3. Ibom Angels Fc.4. Adamawa Queens Fc.5. Heartland Queens Fc.” 
The NWFL Premiership has been scheduled to start on December 9, 2020 across the country on a straight league format and the eventual Champion and other top clubs will qualify for the inaugural edition of the CAF Women Champions League slated to kick off in 2021.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here