Kwara United beat 10-man ABS FC 2-1 to retain State Federation Cup


Kwara United Football Club today, Saturday March 30th, 2024 defeated Abubakar Bukola Saraki (Ilorin) Football Club 2-1 to retain the State Federation Cup competition, even as the club vows to emulate the 1976 feat by the defunct Alyuf Salam Rocks, and possibly lift the national trophy.

The match was decided at Pitch A of the Kwara Football Academy, Ilorin.

Two quick goals from Sadeeq Yusuf and Paul Samson, both in the 11th and 17th minutes respectively, silenced ABS FC for the better part of the first half, only to regain their rythm in the second half.

Kwara United withdrew the trio of Issa Gata, Emmanuel Ogbole and Sadeeq Yusuf in the early part of the second half for Omaka Anthony, Ayo Adejubu and Abubakar Garba in that order, but before they settled into the game, Annafi Babatunde reduced the tally in the 48th minute, to return the Nigeria National League (NNL) team into the game.

ABS FC leveraged on the goal to raise their game, and were nearly rewarded through strings of chances they created, but Kwara United rose to the ocassion perfectly.

The two teams will represent the state in the national finals of the Federation Cup competition. Kwara Ladies United will represent the state in the female version of the national competition.

While congratulating Kwara United for retaining the trophy, the General Manager of the club, Bashir Badawiy said that his team underrated ABS FC maybe because they got two quick goals, but commended the players for winning the trophy again.

He pledged that the team will go far in the national competition this year, despite the anticipated challenges.

“We have the capacity and capability to go far in the competition this time around, and rewrite history in the state’s representation in the Federation Cup. I will want to thank the Fans, Supporters and the stakeholders for their support to the team.

Among those present at the final are the Executive Chairman, Kwara State Sports Commission, Mallam Bolakale Adisa Magaji, the State Commandant, NDLEA, Mohammed Bashir Ibrahim, Hameed Adio, the Director of Football, ABS FC, Alloy Chukwuemeka, Alhaji Shina Bello and Alhaji Saliu Ojibara.

Others are Mrs. Abimbola Olaoye, Alhaji Bolaji Umar, Chairman, Irepodun FA, Emmanuel Joel, Pharmacist Lanre Alege, the SA Security, Alhaji Moshood Gobir, Engr Laide Ahmed, Football Agent, Abu Eric and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here