AA Super Stars, Oloru Super Angels win 4th Helbank Inter Club Volleyball Championship


AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq Super Stars of Offa and Oloru Super Angels of Oloru have emerged champions of the 4th edition of Helbank Inter Club Volleyball competition in the male and female categories respectively.

In the final game of the male event played at the Indoor Sports Hall of the Kwara State Stadium Complex, Ilorin to seeday, AA Super Stars of Offa outscored Harmony Spikers of Ilorin by 3-1, (25-23 16-25, 25-22, and 25-18) to win the championship back-to-back.

In the final of the female game, Tianah Spikers of Ilorin lost 3-0 to Oloru Super Angels, 25-17, 25-15 and 25-7, to climax the competition as second best team in the five-day volleyball fiesta, which was at the instance of the Kwara State Volleyball Association.

Speaking to sports writers, the Executive Chairman of the Kwara State Sports Commission, Mallam Bola Mogaji expressed delight, and appreciated Helbank Shipping International, for sustaining the annual competition, noting that the administration of Mallam AbdulRahaman AbdulRazaq will not relent in providing the enabling environment for sports and youth development in the state.

Earlier, the sponsor, Bashorun Kayode Bankole expressed satisfaction with all the participating clubs, and saluted their spirit of sportsmanship displayed throughout.

He reaffirmed the determination and commitment to sustain the annual competition as an attempt to complement Governor AbdulRahaman AbdulRazaq’s huge investment to sports development across the 16 Local Government Areas of the state.

The grand finale however witnessed presentation of medals to the winners, and Special Recognition Award to the sponsor, Bashorun Kayode Bankole

Best male Spiker award was won by Richard of Unilorin, Best male Setter award goes to Williams Benedict, also of Unilorin while Best Libero award was received by Mora Suleiman of Harmony Spikers.

In the female category, the Best Spiker award went to Onifade Christiana of Unilorin, Best Setter award was received by Adeyemo Favour of Olalomi Royal Spiker, as the Best Libero award goes to  Orekoya Anthonia of University of Ilorin.

Offa Volleyball Club of Offa won bronze in the male category, whileOlalomi Royal Spiker won bronze in the female class.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here