Electoral Committee set for May 17 elections for six Kwara State Football Councils


Elections into the last six Kwara State Football Councils has been scheduled to come up on Wednesday May 17th, 2023, at the Alhaji Shehu Usman Mustapha Football House, Kwara State Stadium Complex, Ilorin, beginning from 8.00am.

The six Local Government Areas are Asa, Ifelodun, Barutein, Ilorin West, Ifelodun and Kaiama.

The Extra Ordinary Congress of the Kwara State Football Association held yesterday May 13th, 2023, at the Mandate Hotel, Iloffa, Oke-Ero Local Government Area approved the date for the elections, which were not held alongside others following issues bordering on incomplete Intent Forms the inability of some Councils to pay affiliation fees.

The Extra Ordinary Congress also picked Tuesday June 13th, 2023 as date for the State Football Association elections, even as they also ratified the already established venue, Kaiama Local Government Area of the state.

In a statement by the Electoral and Appeals Committees, signed by the Secretary, Mallam Kashim Agaka, the Committees expressed readiness to stage the elections, to pave way for the state elections.

It would be recalled that the Electoral Committee had, after the screening on Thursday March 9, 2023, disqualified four Local Government Areas from the exercise, while the last two, Kaiama and Baruten who had their contestants cleared couldn’t make it then.

Following the development, elections for the four Councils were suspended, and Interim Chairmen appointed to run the affairs of the Football Councils, after which elections will hold.

The four Football Councils are Asa, Ilorin West, Ifelodun and Moro.

On Sunday 12th March, the appointed Interim Chairmen were inaugurated. They are Alhaji Mujeeb Ibrahim (Asa), Mr Dauda Bello Hauja (Ifelodun), Alhaji AbdulRazaq Adebayo Owolabi Agbaji Wopa (Ilorin West) and Mr Sunday Oyetunji (Moro).

After the screening by both the Electoral and Appeal Committees of the Kwara State Football Association, all the contestants were cleared, and are declared eligible to take part in the Bye Election to be conducted on May 17th, 2023.

They include contestants that earlier collected Intent Forms and those that collected Intent Forms at the last window after the March 21st, 2023 elections.

The breakdown of the contestants contesting from each of the four Local Government Areas are: Asa (nine contestants), Ifelodun (eight contestants), Ilorin West (10 contestants) and Moro (five ontestants).

The list of contestants for Asa Local Football Council includes Abdullahi Mohammed Duro, Ibrahim Mujeeb Oluyori, Kehinde Yunus Oladapo, Tijani Aduagba Raji, Isaaq Qaasim Abdulkareem, Memudu Rasheed Ayodele, Ajao Ibraheem Ajape, Soliu Saka and Ajao Ridwan Olaitan.

Five candidates, including the Chairman, shall be elected onto office from each of the Football Councils.

The list for Barutein has Abubakar Ahmed Boro, Aliyu Koto Usman, Yusuf Ahmed Gunu, Musa Idris and Abdul Aziz Lawal Biriso.

That of Ifelodun has Chief Ajide Afolabi Salami, Bello Dauda, Olubi Sikiru, Salami Fatai, Garuba Micheal Durojaiye, Abubakar Quadri Olasunkanmi, Adefila Oluwaseyi Samson and Salami Adeola Adebayo.

Top on the list for Ilorin West is Jimoh Yaradua Yahaya. Others are Adebayo AbdulRasaq Owolabi Wopa, Abdulqoudri Olatunji Shuaib, Omolabi Issa, Usman Abubakar, Aliyu Aminat, Surakat Mahmud Taiye, Shehu-Abdulkadir Ibrahim Jatto, Adelodun Abdullahi and Oniye Mohammed Olatunji.

For Kaiama, the contestants are Yusuf Mohammed Asifa, Omar Sabi Sule, Abdullahi Umar Usman, Yaqub Umar Jaja and Ibrahim Ahmed.

Moro has Adetunji Adetayo Sunday, Ahmed Sulaiman Ajise, Oloru Saad’at Bola, Uthman Ridwan Olayinka and Gidado Atanda Yusuf

The Kwara State Football Association Electoral and Appeal Committee members are Alhaji Saliu Ojibara, Alhaji Abdulkareem Ayinde, Barrister Anthony Kayode Towoju, Mr Emmanuel Dada Obafemi, Mrs Serah Bola Esan, Professor AbdulGafar Ijaiya and Engr. Sulaiman Warah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here