FG inaugurates Board of Nigeria Paralympic Committee


The Minister of Sports and Youth Development, Mr Sunday Dare, has inaugurated the newly elected Board members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) with a charge to ensure inclusiveness for the purpose of maintaining podium performances in all competitions across the globe. 

During the inauguration ceremony which held today at the Steven Keshi Stadium Asaba, Delta State; Dare expressed optimism that with the calibre of Members elected, Nigeria is sure to record more accolades through its paralympians.

According to him, Para-Sports is one of the games that has lifted the nation’s flag high in global events and as such, the athletes need encouragement and support to enhance their performances

He therefore, called on the new Board to bring their wealth of experience and knowledge to bear in ensuring a proper administration of the sporting activities of Paralympians in the country

While congratulating the new Board members on their election, he thanked the Delta State Government for agreeing to host the Congress. 

Speaking earlier,  the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, Alhaji Ismaila Abubakar assured the new Board members that the Ministry will continue to provide an enabling environment for the realisation of the present Administration’s policy as it affects Paralympians

Represented by the Director, Federation, Elites and Athletes Development (FEAD), Dr Simon Ebhojaiye, the Permanent Secretary therefore charged them to justify the confidence reposed on them by the electorate and members

Responding, the newly elected President, Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN), Mr. Odebode Sunday, assured that under their tenure, Nigeria is sure to witness more podium appearances from the athletes.

The Newly elected Board Members of the Paralympic Committee Nigeria (PCN) are as follows.

Odebode Sunday (President), Shodipo Ayinde (1st Vice President),  Ugwunwa Flora (2nd VP and Female Athlete Representative), Isah Suleiman (Secretary General),  Agbado Douglas  (Assistant Secretary General), Ettington Rafiu Olawale (Treasurer), Asaba Pius Idowu (South West),

North East (suspended), Ezeikpe Chinedu (South East), Adisa Lukman Abefe (North Central) and Bungon Dauda (North West)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.