Kwara Football Councils elections concluded, as outgone Electoral Committee commends FA

The Chairman of Kwara State Football Association, Mallam Idris Abdullahi Musa has commended the outgone Chairmen and members of the Electoral and Appeals Committees for bringing their integrity to bear in the discharge of their assignments. 

Popularly known as Thuraya, the Chairman, Mallam Idris said that above all, their Committees’ resolve to go in line with the provisions in the Electoral Code, Rules and Regulations as well as Statutes of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) in the discharge of their duties ensured that everything was done correctly, without fear or favour.

The Electoral and Appeals Committees were constituted and inaugurated in 2019, by the last FA Board led by late Mallam Busari Ishola, and have concluded their assignment with the conduct of the Football Councils elections.

It would be recalled that the Congress of the FA on Saturday May 13th, 2023, in Iloffa, Oke-Ero Local Government Area constituted new Electoral and Appeals Committees, which were inaugurated today, at the Mallam Usman Shehu Mustapha Football House, Kwara State Stadium Complex, Ilorin. 

The outgone Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Mallam Salihu Ojibara commended the Kwara State Football Association for raising the bar in football development in the state, and as well, giving the Football Councils an acceptable structure through transparent, free and fair elections.

Mallam Ojibara, who led other members to conclude their assignment with the conduct of the last six Football Councils elections today, Wednesday May 17th, 2023, in Ilorin said that he and his.members were not in any way, disappointed with the FA, which he says, has laid a good foundation that would stand a test of time.

While commending the stakeholders for their support and sacrifice, he advocated for sensitization programme for them, adding that the few issues recorded during the process was because they were not conversant with the rules.

He thanked the FA for giving members of the outgone Electoral Committee and the Appeals Committee the opportunity to contribute to the development of the game, even as he thanked the FA for giving them the needed support to tackle the assignment. 

The body, together with the Appeals Committee today conducted elections into the last six Football Councils, Asa, Ifelodun, Barutein, Ilorin West, Kaiama and Moro.

The newly elected members of Asa Local Football Council are  Ibrahim Mujeeb Oluyori as Chairman, Kehinde Yunus Oladapo (Vice Chairman), with Tijani Aduagba Raji, Isaaq Qaasim Abdulkareem and Ajao Ridwan Olaitan as members.

For Barutein Local Football Council, Abubakar Ahmed Boro emerged as Chairman, while Aliyu Koto Usman, Yusuf Ahmed Gunu, Musa Idris and Abdul Aziz Lawal Biriso are Vice Chairman and members, in that order.

Bello Dauda was elected as Chairman of Ifelodun Football Council, with Olubi Sikiru equally elected as the Vice Chairman. Others are Salami Fatai, Adefila Oluwaseyi Samson and Salami Adeola Adebayo.

Alhaji Adebayo AbdulRasaq Owolabi Wopa emerged as the Chairman of Ilorin West Football Council, alongside Omolabi Issa (Vice Chairman), Aliyu Aminat, Surakat Mahmud Taiye and Shehu-Abdulkadir Ibrahim Jatto

Yusuf Mohammed Asifa retains the Chairmanship seat of Kaiama Local Football Council. Omar Sabi Sule emerged as Vice Chairman, with Abdullahi Umar Usman, Yaqub Umar Jaja and Ibrahim Ahmed as members.

For Moro Local Football Council, Adetunji Adetayo Sunday will be the new Chairman. 

Ahmed Sulaiman Ajise will be the new Vice Chairman, with Oloru Sa’adat Bola, Uthman Ridwan Olayinka and Gidado Atanda Yusuf as members.

All the elected Chairmen, Vice Chairmen and members were presented with certificates of return.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top