Kwara FA hosts, honours Ramat Cup victorious team

Kwara State Football Association has pledged to continue to encourage and partner all platforms that supports the identification and grooming of talented footballers, especially at the grassroots.

Chairman of the association, Mallam Idris Abdullahi Musa made the declaration during the reception for the U-16 team that won the 38th edition of the Ramat Cup International, in Kano state, yesterday in Ilorin.

Mallam Idris, popularly known as Thuraya, said that the victory in Kano was a result of sound investment in grassroots football, even as he commended the state government for sustaining Kwara Football Academy.

The team defeated Oyo state 2-1 in the final to record a back-to-back victory in the competition being staged in memory of former Head of State, General Murtala Ramat Mohammed.

The team, by virtue of the victory, won a ticket to represent the country in a youth competition in Norway later in the year.

Also, the Coach, Ladi Ojokojo was selected as the Best Coach, while goalkeeper Daniel Aiyenugba was picked as the Best Goalkeeper of the tournament.

The FA Chairman presented the medals won to the players and officials, and also presented them, including the state Youth Sports Federation of Nigeria (YSFON) officials, branded t-shirts.

The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, Barrister Iyabo Banire, who was represented by the Director of Sports at the Ministry, Alhaji Shola Shehu commended the FA for hosting the team, adding that efforts are on to receive the team by Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq.

Chairman of YSFON in the state, Mallam Ademola Kiyesola thanked the government, Kwara Football Academy and the FA, for their support before, during and after the competition.

The Technical Director of KFA, Coach Sam Elijah, who represented the Administrator of the institution, Coach Kehinde Jimoh thanked government for it’s support, and the FA for the reception.

Others present at the reception are Mr. Emmanuel Dada Obafemi, Coach Tunde Sanni, Oke Jimoh, Mallam Mohammed Aluko, Hajia Segilola Alaya and Alhaji Owolabi Agbaji Wopa, among other stakeholders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top