Kwara NUJ/Attahiru Ibrahim Inter-Chapel Table Tennis tournament final holds tomorrow

Jide Allen of Radio Kwara and Bolakale Alabi of NTA are through to the final of the Kwara NUJ/ Attahiru Ibrahim table tennis tournament, in the male category.
In the female category, Janet Bogunjoko of the Herald Newspaper will play the defending champion, Bamidele Yetunde of the State Information in the final.
The Inter-Chapel competition is holding at the NUJ Press Centre, Offa road, Ilorin.
To reach the final, Jide Allen edged out Ibrahim Ahmed of National Pilot in two straight sets in the first semi-final, while Bolakale Alabi defeated Baba Ibrahim of National Orientation Agency (NOA) also by two straight sets.
Both Ibrahim Ahmed of National Pilot and Baba Ibrahim of NOA are joint third winners in the male category, while Itunu Olaosebikan of Radio Kwara and Nusirat Popoola of Kwara Television are joint third winners in the female category.
Eight female and 10 male players from the affiliated Chapels of the NUJ are taking part in the competition.
While declaring the competition open, the Chairman of the Kwara State Council of  NUJ, Mallam Abdullateef ‘Lanre Ahmed commended the sponsor of the tournament who is the Special Adviser on Sports Matters to Kwara Governor, Mallam Attahiru Ibrahim, noting that his gesture has achieved the purpose of strengthen and promoting unity among journalists in the state.
Mallam Ahmed, who thanked Chapel leaders for mobilizing their members for the competition said that the essence of the tournament is to ensure sense of unity and spirit of sportsmanship among members of the pen pushing profession, adding that the Council would ensure it’s sustained.
Dignitaries expected at the final tomorrow by 3.00pm are the State Commissioner for Communications, Hon. Olabode Towoju, Executive Chairman of the Sports Commission, Mallam Bola Maogaji, Kwara State Pillar of Sports, Prince Oladimeji Thompson, Heads of Media Organisations, Engineer Olaide Ahmed and the Executive Secretary, Club Owners Association, Chief Alloy Chukwuemeka, the Nwachigoziri 1.
Also expected are Kwara United Chairman, Kumbi Titiloye, the General Manager, Kwara United FC, Bashir Badawiy, Chairman, Kwara State Table Tennis Association, Mallam Tunde Kazeem of KazoLinks Consult, Ilorin, Kwara FA Chairman, Mallam Idris Abdullahi Musa, Board Chairman, Kwara TV, Mallam Hameed Adio, Alhaji Owolabi Wopa Agbaji, Engr. Idris Jibril, friends and well wishers.
Winners will get medals and cash prizes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here