Kwara NSSF constituted, inaugurated in line with new structure


The Kwara state chapter of the Nigeria School Sports Federation (NSSF) was today reconstituted and inaugurated, in line with the new structure adopted by the national body.

The body was constituted in line with the Constitution of the NSSF which provides that there should be the state chapters headed by the State Chairman, for effective administration of NSSF organised competitions and school sports events at state level.

While inaugurating Kwara state NSSF, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development, Mrs Adeosun Mary Kemi charged the body to work hard and let their positive impact felt.

The Permanent Secretary, who was represented by the Director of School Services, Mrs Ade Aboyeji O.O. expressed optimism that the new structure will move sports forward in the state.

According to the new structure, the state NSSF will now have the Commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development and that of Sports and Youth Development as Patrons, as well as the Special Assistant on Sports and Youth Development, the Executive Chairman, Sports Council/Commission and Executive Chairman, State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).

Members of state NSSF shall include representatives of All Nigeria Conference of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), Association of Primary School Head-Teachers of Nigeria (AOPSHON), State Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development, State School Management Board, State SUBEB, State Sports Council, Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, National Association of Physical, Health Education and Recreation, Sports and Dance (NAPHER-SD), Physical Education teacher and the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN).

After the inauguration, Mallam Zubair Ayo Rafiu of AOPSHON was selected as Vice Chairman, Yahaya Adua of Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM) as the Public Relations Officer, and Ahmed Adebayo of Sports Council as the Technical Director, also in line with the Constitution.

Other members of Kwara NSSF are Mallam Bakare A.S. as the Coordinator/Secretary, Mallam Fatai Musa (Ministry of Education and Human Capital Development), Mrs Olaide Olanrewaju (SUBEB), Mr Idowu Ayodeji (Ministry of Sports and Youth Development), Mrs Abimbola Olaoye (ANCOPSS), Mr Mohammed Usman (NAPHER-SD), Mallam Yusuf Sulaiman from the Association of Schools Sports Officers (ASSPO), and Jimoh Bashir from the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN).

A seven-man committee was also constituted to draw a roadmap for NSSF in the state. They are Mrs Olaide Olanrewaju, Mrs Abimbola Olaoye, Mr Mohammed Usman, Mallam Zubair Ayo Rafiu, Jimoh Bashir, Yahaya Adua and Idowu Ayodeji.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here