NFF Elections: Kwara United congratulate Gusau, Fresh, others


Kwara United Football Club has congratulated the newly elected President of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Mallam Ibrahim Musa Gusau, and the other elected members of the Board.

Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau emerged as President of the NFF after defeating ex-international, Peterside Idah 39 votes to one in a re-run election held at the Edo Heritage Hotel, Benin City on Friday, September 30th, 2022.

The Zamfara born Administrator had in the first ballot defeated his closest rivals, former First Vice President and second Vice President, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi and Mallam Shehu Dikko.

Kwara United, in a release by the Media Team, described him emergence as divine, adding that he is an astute Administrator that knows the terrain so well.

The club also congratulated Alhaji Ahmed Yusuf Fresh, for winning his election. Alhaji Fresh emerged as Chairman of Chairmen after polling majority votes of 41 cast to emerge unopposed.

Kwara United equally congratulated others who emerged as member of the new Board that will run the affairs of football in the country at least for the next five years.

Enyimba International supremo, Mr. Felix Anyansi-Agwu polled 23 votes to beat Senator Solomon Ogba who polled 8 votes to emerge as the First Vice President.

For board members, Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen emerged as the winner after defeating Mohammed Alkali in a rerun by 22 to 19 votes. The two had initially polled 15 and 14 votes respectively.

Alhaji Babagana Kalli polled 23 votes to pick the first slot for North East on the NFF board as Timothy Henman defeated Sajo Mohammed 32 to 9 votes in the re-run to book the second slot.

For North West, unopposed Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa of Kano State polled 40 votes to book the North-West seat on the NFF Board.

There was no election in the South East as there was an inconsistency in the electoral rule book which hinged on Federal Character.

In the South-South election, Rt. Hon Essien Udofot and Nigeria Women Football League Chairperson, Aisha Falode emerged with 19 and 13 votes respectively to book their place on the board.

South West will have Sunday Ajayi and Ganiyu Majekodunmi on the NFF Board after they both polled 12 votes each.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here