SportsFlames/Kwara United Player of the Year Award presentation holds August 8

Chief Organiser of SportsFlames/ Kwara United Player of the Season award has announce that the award presentation will hold on Monday August 8th, 2022 at the Kwara United Secretariat in Ilorin, Kwara state by 11am.
Striker Alao Danbani emerged winner of the maiden award in Kwara State, after he pulled a total 62.2% of the votes from the poll to edge out Afeez Nosir, Ayodeji Bamidele and Samad Kadiri who came second, third and fourth after they pulled 19.7%, 17% and 5% respectively from the online voting portal ( which lasted for four weeks.
The award Organiser, previously resident in Lagos had the award known as the SportsFlames/MFMFC Player of the Year award with the inaugural edition held in 2017.
Onuwa Chukwuka formerly with MFM FC clinched the prize, defender Adeyinka Najeem now with Niger Tornadoes won the last edition while he was with MFM FC last year.
Olatoye Olawale, Managing Partner of Sportflames Communications and General Manager SGFC Athletics Sports Club expressed delight that the award is making it’s debut in Ilorin, Kwara State after relocating from Lagos state.
According to him, “It’s a good feeling to bring the award down to Ilorin, Kwara state. Our vision is to have the award with different Clubs playing in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) every season.
“This project is our Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) as an organisation, rewarding individual players excellent performance after he distinguished himself on and off the pitch. We started this with MFM FC in Lagos, now we are in Kwara State, so next season we can choose to go to another team or continue with Kwara United.
“The Sportflames brand hopes to keep improving on the award, hosting it yearly, and we also plan to take it beyond just one club in NPFL”, he concluded.
Alao Danbani becomes the first to win the award which is now resident in Kwara state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here