AbbreySports wins 2nd Alyuf Salam memorial competition


Super Pioneers (AbbreySports) yeaterday emerged champions of the second edition of the 2nd edition of Alhaji Adebayo Salami (Sarumi) Memorial Cup, being organized by Pro-Games Sports Promotion Limited.

Super Pioneers (AbbreySports) defeated NASE (Okaa Sports) to win the trophy, while Young Atlers (Jebba Paper Mills) defeated Shinning Stars (Bacita) to win the third place prize, in the matches decided at the Main-Bowl of the Kwara State Stadium Complex, Ilorin.

It would be recalled that the team won the first edition.

The competition was staged to remembrance of the Founder of Alyuf Salam Rocks, Alhaji Adebayo Salami and his legacies, and as well, bring back the memorable moments of football in the state with names of teams of the yesteryears.

Some of these teams, which were adopted by the clubs that participated in the competition are Jebba Paper Mill FC, Water Corporation FC, Nipost FC, Offa United, Ilorin NEPA, Nase FC, Midland Stores, Bacita Sugar FC, Kanji NEPA, Super Pioneer, Tate & Lye FC and Ororo Boys.

The Chairman of Pro-Games Sports Promotion Limited, Mallam Mohammed Jimoh Daudu, who said that rekindling the memories of yesteryears was to celebrate memorable legacies, added that late Alhaji Abubakar Sadaoki, the founder of Sadaoki Rocks, which metamorphosed into Alyuf Salam Rocks will also be remembered with a memorable competition.

He commended all those that contributed towards the actualisation and sustainance of the dream.

The Chairman of the Kwara State Sports Commission, Mallam Bola Mogaji commended the organizers, even as he appraised the exploits of some teams and personalities who contributed to sports development in the state.

Among major stakeholders honoured at the ocassion by Pro-Games Sports Promotion Limited are His Excellency, Kwara State Governor, Mallam AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, Her Excellency, Mrs Olufolake AbdulRazaq, Pa G. B. Oladipo, the Registrar of Al-Hikmah University, Alhaja Rasheedat Oladimeji and the Stadium Manager, Oyewale Obalola.

Others are the Executive Chairman of the Kwara State Sports Commission, Mallam Bola Mogaji, Mrs Serah Bola Esan, Alhaji Lamidi Sanni, the State Head of Service, Mrs Modupe Oluwole, Bayour Issah, Professor AbdulRaheem Issa and late Alhaji Adebayo Salami.

Adetunji Salami, who is one of the children of late Alhaji Adebayo Salami, and who represented the family expressed delight with the competition, even as he said he was proud of the contributions of his father to football development in the state.

He commended the organizers for reliving the memories and legacies of his late father.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here