Ipee United wins maiden Hon. O. J Unity Cup in Oyun


Ipee United FC yesterday emerged winners of the maiden edition of Hon. O. J. Unity Football Competition tagged “Ipee 2021 Unity Cup, beating LEM FC of Ilemona 4-2 on penalties, after playing out a two-all draw at regulation time.

The final match of the competition, sponsored by Hon. Ojo Olayiwola Oyebode, who is representing Oke-Ogun Constituency at the State House of Assembly was decided at the Baptist Primary School pitch, in Ipee.

Eight Community teams in Oyun Local Government Area participated in the competition which was introduced to encourage the development of football at the grassroots level.

The teams are the eventual winners, Ipee United, LEM FC, Ojoku FC, Ijagbo FC, Irra Super Stars, Igosun United, Inaja FC and Unique Agara FC.

Irra Super Stars had earlier beaten Ijagbo FC 4-3 on penalties, after scores at regulation time ended one-goal apiece, to win the third place match, getting medals and N20,000 for doing so.

Ipee United FC got medals, a giant trophy and N50,000 for winning the competition, while the second placed team, LEM FC got N30,000 and medals.

The competition was organized by Oyun Local Government Area Football Council, being led by Alhaji Salman Fowomola, who described the competition as unique, and a way of empowering the youth in the Local Government Area.

While commending the sponsor for his commitment, he urged him to assist in converting the pitch to a Mini Stadium, with the provision of borehole and fence, to complement the provision of the Pavilion which the sponsor roofed. He also provided jerseys for the two finalists, and two football cases for all the teams that participated.

The sponsor, Hon. Oyebode, who is the Chairman, Kwara House of Assembly Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources commended the organisers and the participants, for displaying the spirit of sportsmanship.

He also commended the leadership of the Kwara State House of Assembly, led by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Danladi and the traditional rulers in the Local Government Area for their support.

He pledged to sustain the sponsorship of the competition.

The colourful ceremony was witnessed by the Speaker, Kwara State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Yakubu Danladi, other House Leaders and members, two State Executive Council members, Hon Harriette Oshatimehin, who is the Commissioner for Youth, and Hon  Remilekun Banigbe, who is the Commissioner for Environment, the Onipee of Ipee, Oba Mufutau Adebayo Lawal, Olukotun of Ikotun, Oba Razaq Abioye, the Onira of Irra, Oba Abdulwahab Oyetoro, the Olojoku of Ojoku, Oba Razaq Afolabi, the Kwara FA Chairman, Mallam Idris Abdullahi Musa, and the TIC Chairman of Oyun Local Government Area, Dr. Abdulwaheed Ibrahim.

Others are Hon. Joshua Omokanye, Chief Alabi, Kwara YSFON Chairman, Mallam Ademola Kiyesola and Mr John Adepoju, who are both members of the Organizing Committee, the Chairman, Offa Football Council, Alhaji Wasiu Bisi Lawal and All Progressives Congress (APC) members in Oyun Local Government Area, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here