Joy Sports FC wins 13th Wesley 7-a-side tourney


Joy Sports Football Club on Sunday emerged winners of this year’s Wesley 7-a-side football competition, sponsored by the Chairman of the Road Transport Employers Association of Nigeria (RTEAN), Alhaji AbdulRahman Olayinka Onikijipa.

They defeated Stallions FC through penalties, after the regulation time ended two-goal apiece. The winners converted just a kick, to win the crucial encounter decided at Wesley Primary School pitch, Irewolede, Ilorin.

Arowoiyabuna FC had earlier beaten Papa FC to win the third place match.

The winners went home with a trophy and cash prize of N70, 000, while the second and third placed team won N40, 000 and N20, 000 respectively.

Coach Olugade Abidola of Stallion FC was picked as the Best Coach of the competition. Others winners are Joel Godwin of Stallion FC (Most Valuable Player), Abdullahi Umar, also of Stallion, who scored eight goals to emerge Highest Goal Scorer, and Goalkeeper Muyiwa of Joy Sports who won the Best Goalkeeper award.

Six personalities were given awards by the organizers, for contributing to the development of football, and the competition.

They are Alhaji Isiaka Adeshina, the President of Nigeria Union of tailors (NUT), Alhaji Saliu Ayuba Elere (Success), Opeloyeru Olaleke Abdulmajeed, Joy Sports and Gym Stores Limited, Mr Saheed Sanusi and the sponsor, Alhaji Abdulrahman Olayinka Onikijipa.

Secretary of Club Owners Association, Alloy Chukwuemeka, CEO, Sportspro News, Bayour Issah, Kwara United’s Brazillian player, Ribiero Alves, his Manager, Alade Peter and SWAN Chairman, Jimoh Bashir were also honoured at the occasion.

Wesley competition is organized annually by Moshood Best.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here