Kwara FA Elections: Thuraya wins second term bid, beats Engr Olaide 19-4


Mallam Idris Abdullahi Musa today, June 13, 2023, defeated Engr Abdullateef Olaide Ahmed 19 votes to four, to win the 2023 Kwara State Football elections.

While declaring the result after the elections, the Chairman of the Kwara State Electoral Committee, Mr. Emmanuel Dada Obafemi said that the elections was transparent enough, right from the processes.

The election was supervised by Alhaji Mohammed Aminu for the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

Bashorun Kayode Bankole was elected unopposed as the Vice Chairman, returning to that position for the second term period.

Other Board members, all of whom emerged unopposed, are Hajia Segilola Alaya, Adeshina Bello, Wasiu Lawal, Tunde Sanni, Manzuma Maliki, Abubakar Ahmed and Salaudeen Jimoh.

All the 23 Delegates voted in the election that was conducted at Pisio Hotel, Central Kaiama, in Kaiama Local Government Area of Kwara state, the first time that Elective Congress will be held outside Ilorin.

While declaring the Elective Congress open, the Transition Implementation Committee (TIC) Chairman of Kaiama Local Government Area, Hon. Sulaiman Gado, who was represented by Hajia Ibrahim Aishat, had commended Kwara Football Association and the stakeholders for picking Kaiama as the venue of the all-important gathering.

He charged the stakeholders to embrace unity irrespective of the eventual outcome of the result.

The Emir of Kaiama, Alhaji Muazu Shehu Aliyu, who was represented by the Makama of Kaiama, Alhaji Abbas Sulaiman Ahmed commended Kwara football stakeholders for promoting youth through sports.

The elections was delayed for sometimes to allow for the Players Union, Professional Footballers Association of Nigeria (PFAN), Kwara State chapter, to withdraw their suit instituted to stop the Elective Congress.

Both Alhaji Idris Abdullahi Musa, popularly known as Thuraya and his challenger, Abdullateef Ahmed Olaide had campaigned on instituting and strengthening football structure at the grassroots, and consolidating on successes achieved on different ends.

This is the second time in the history of the FA, which was constituted way back in the 70s, that Kwara State is witnessing a full democratic process in the election of the FA Board, following the election of Thuraya as the first democratically elected Chairman in June 2019.

In his acceptance speech, Thuraya promised to consolidate on the achievements of his first tenure, and also break new grounds. He calls for unity and togetherness among football stakeholders, as his doors will remain open for ideas on ways to move football forward in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here