CAF Awards: Alaya hails Oshoala, Nnadozie and Super Falcons

The Chairperson of Kwara State Football Association Female Football Development Committee, Hajia Segilola Alaya has congratulated FC Barcelona Femeni forward, Asisat Oshoala for winning the 2023 Africa Women Footballer of the Year Award.

At the colourful night in Marrakech, Morocco, on Monday December 11th, 2023, Nigeria swept important honours in African football, with Oshoala winning her sixth consecutive Africa’s female Best Player Award.

Super Falcons safe hands, Nnadozie Chiamaka, who plays professional football with FC Paris in France became first ever Best African Goalkeeper of the Year (Women), while the country’s Women Senior National team, the Super Falcons, after their heroics at the 2023 World Cup, for the fifth time, emerged best National team in the continent.

Hajia Alaya, who is a Board member of the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) and Founder of Abruka Queens Football Club described the night as a great appreciation of the sacrifices being made towards the uplift of female football in Nigeria, especially by the clubs.

Oshoala’s achievements, both at the club level and the national team resulted in her being recognized as Women’s African Footballer of the Year, this time for the record-extending 6th time, with Nigeria also winning the male version, as Victor Osimhen breaks 24 years wait for Nigeria.

“This comes with great excitement. This has been hugely rewarding for female football and for our country as a whole. I congratulate Oshoala and Nnadozie, and I congratulate the Super Falcons as a team for bringing us this honour.

“The victory of Oshoala, Chiamaka and the Super Falcons at the CAF Awards not only brings pride and honor to Nigeria but also opens a new vista for female football development in our country. It serves as an inspiration to aspiring young female footballers, that hardwork can lead to remarkable success on the world stage.”

Hajia Alaya commended the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Board, the Female Football Club Owners and the stakeholders, for their efforts at developing female football.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top