NWFL Championship League holds June 22nd to 29th in Abuja 


The Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) in an excellent move to conclude the seasons of the three tiers of the women’s league in Nigeria, has announced that the the second tier of the league, the NWFL Championship, will hold at the Aguiyi Ironsi Sports Centre, Abuja from June 22nd to 29th, 2021.

In a statement signed by the Chief Operating Officer of the NWFL, Modupe Shabi, the NWFL Championship teams are expected to arrive in Abuja on Tuesday June 22nd for the Draws and Pre-Match Meetings.

The Match Day One on Wednesday June 23, would see three matches played. While the Match Day Two on Thursday June 24th would witness the same number of three matches.

Friday June 24th is Rest Day, while Match Day Three holds on Saturday 26th June with three matches to be played.

Match Day Four holds on Sunday, June 27th with three matches, and Monday June 28th will be observed as the second Rest Day.

The Match Day Five holds on Tuesday 29th June with the last three matches at the Aguiyi Ironsi sports complex, Abuja.

The vice Chairperson of the Nigeria Women Football League, Rt Honourable Margaret Incheen, is the General Coordinator of the NWFL Championship.

The NWFL C.O.O noted that for this year’s Women Championship League, only six registered clubs will play in Abuja from June 22nd to 29th. Adding that, the newly promoted eight NWFL Nationwide teams to the NWFL Championship, would have have to wait until next season to play in the Championship League.

Shabi disclosed that, at the end of the NWFL Championship on June 29th in Abuja, two teams with the highest points will be promoted to the NWFL Premiership.


1. Kwara Ladies FC
2. Kaduna Queens FC
3. Gallant Queens FC
4. Naija Ratels FC
5. Heartland Queens
6. Adamawa Queens

Aguyi Ironsi Sports Complex, Abuja.

22nd June to 29th June, 2021.

1. Arrival of Clubs/Draws/Pre-Match Meeting – Tuesday 22nd June, 2021.

2. Match Day 1 (3 matches). – Wednesdy June 23, 2021.

3. Match Day 2 ( 3 matches) – Thursday June 24, 2021.

4. REST DAY 1. – Friday June 25, 2021.

5. Match Day 3 (3 matches). – Saturday June 26, 2021.

6. Match Day 4 (3 matches). – Sunday June 27, 2021.

7. REST DAY 2. – Monday June 28, 2021.

8. Match Day 5 (3 matches).- Tuesday June 29, 2021.

Two teams will be promoted to NWFL Premiership League.

Two teams will be relegated to NWFL Nationwide League.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here