Kwara FA Cup competition kicks off June 6th



The draws for this year’s Kwara State FA Cup championship has been released by the Secretariat of the Kwara State Football House, with 16 clubs, both male and female, expected to start the journey on June 6th, 2022.


The defending champions, Kwara United Football Club will battle 12 other clubs for honours in the male version of the competition, which is the qualifiers for the Premier Soccer Cup competition in Nigeria, now names Aiteo Cup.


The other teams are last year’s finalists, Foresight FC, Abubakar Bukola Saraki FC, AbbreySports FC, Gidado FC, Young Antlers FC, La Planet FA, Kwara Football Academy, House of Prayer FC, ABDO Boys, Ga’a Akanbi FC, ASQ FC and G Stallion FA.


To battle for honours in the female category are Abimbola Queens FC, Moje Queens of Erin-Ile and Abruka Queens FC.


Five first round matches has been scheduled for the Main-Bowl of the Kwara State Stadium Complex on Monday. House of Prayer FC will kick-start the hostilities against Gidado FC as early as 8.00am, while La Planet FC will trade tackles with ABDO Boys by 10.00am, in the second match.


GStallion will take the centre stage against Ga’a Akanbi FC by noon, Foresight FA will square up with Young Antlers by 2.00 pm, while the last match of the day, between AbbreySports and ASQ FC holds by 4.00pm.


Three former winners of the trophy, Kwara United FC, Abubakar Bukola Saraki FC and Kwara Football Academy were drawn bye into the quarter-finals.


Kwara United FC will take on the winner of the tie between House of Prayer FC and Gidado FC in the first quarter-final matcjh, just as ABS FC will wait for the winner of the match between Foresight FC and Young Antlers.


Kwara Football Academy will play the winner of the AbbreySports FC and ASQ FC fixture, in the last quarter-final encounter.


Speaking after the draws, the State FA Chairman, Mallam Idris Abdullahi Musa said that his Board intensified efforts, especially at the grassroots, to have more clubs participate in the competition this year.


He commended the teams that registered to participate, even as he reminded them that rules and regulations guiding the competition will be adhered to completely, as the FA is desirous of producing worthy champions at the end of the hostilities.


Mallam Abdullahi, who is popularly known as ‘Thuraya’ commended the State Governor, Mallam AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq for his supporters to sports development.


He also praised the efforts of the Kwara State Sports Commission and other stakeholders for their sacrifice and support, to football development.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.